Showing posts with label Smartphone Application. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Smartphone Application. Show all posts

Thursday

New app deletes messages before recipients get to read them


Ever written a text message, clicked send then felt regret afterwards? Or ever discovered an embarrassing screenshot of your drunken escapade, roaming around social media?

Well worry no more, as a new app called ‘Protect you Privates!’ aims to tackle both these social nightmares by allowing users to delete messages, even after they’ve already been sent.

The new security app comes with a built-in function which prevents recipients from taking screen grabs of photos and videos, while also blocking unauthorized sending and leaking copies of messages.

As per reports from UK-based media, Mirror Online, the app comes with end-to-end encryption, including a ‘recall’ button which will delete messages on the users and recipients’ respective phones.

Speed, however, will be key for users, as the process only works if a message remains unopened.

Also, much like Snapchat’s security setting, Protect your Privates will also automatically delete unread messages after either 24, 12 or three hours, depending on the user’s preference.

Meanwhile, the app’s creator Dr. Isaac Datikashvili revealed that he had originally designed the app as a way of securely transferring medical records.

It was only after the overall design process that he saw the potential uses in personal messaging.

For now, Protect your Privates is only exclusive for iOS users, but developers claimed that they are working to extend its services to Windows and Android phones as well. Khristian Ibarrola

source: technology.inquirer.net

Tuesday

Companion app lets friends virtually walk you home


For those worried about commuting home late at night, you might find a new app named Companion useful.

Using the app, users can plug in their destination and indicate what mode of transportation they’re using. They can then send a Companion request to any number of their contacts, even if they don’t have the app installed on their own phones. The contact receives a text message with a link that leads to a map that shows them where the user is using GPS.


The app detects changes in movement, like when the user starts running or if they fall, and asks them if they’re okay. If the user doesn’t press the “yes” button within 15 seconds, the app sets of a loud alarm on the phone and gives the user the option to call police.

The app, developed by five students from the University of Michigan, was originally designed to be used by university students walking home at night. However, the app can still be used outside of the US, though developers are still working on giving the app the capability to contact local police authorities. For users outside of the US, they need to enter their cellphone number along with the country code.

Companion is free and available on both Android and Apple devices. — Bea Montenegro/TJD, GMA News

source: gmanetwork.com

Friday

New mobile app lets you take back text messages

 
Just sent someone a nasty or inappropriate text message and want to take it back? Now, there's an app for that.
 
Introducing Strings, a messaging app that allows you to take back your messages by controlling "if and when content is deleted, immediately and permanently."
 
Strings can also allow a user to control if other users download photos and videos or share them with others.
 
The catch, however, is that the app is available only for iOS, at least for now.
Another catch? Your recipients must have the app installed on their phones, too, so you can't use it if your friend's phone runs on Android or Windows Phone.
 
10 Commandments of Sharing (on Strings)
 
 
  1. You need a smartphone and phone number to use Strings. No number, no use.
  2. Your profile is not public. Only people who you add to your contact list can share with you.
  3. The only people who can view your content are the ones you share it with. Add people and remove people anytime.
  4. No one can download or share your content without your approval. Period.
  5. If anyone takes screenshots of your content, Strings will detect it and their account will be suspended.
  6. If you remove yourself from a conversation, anything you said will be removed with you.
  7. If you delete a photo, video or chat that you created, it will be deleted on every participant’s device.
  8. If you delete your account, your photos, videos and comments are deleted forever, on all phones and servers.
  9. What you share will never be analyzed, mined, sold, filed, or otherwise used at your expense.
  10. Strings is free to use and free of advertising.
  — Joel Locsin/TJD, GMA News
   
source: gmanetwork.com